Kansas City Sold Out!!

Just like Detroit, We just got word that tonight’s show in Kansas City is sold out.

Thanks for the love, Detroit.

Thanks so much KC! See you tonight!

20 Responses to Kansas City Sold Out!!

  1. Nurse Angie says:

    I was at the Detroit concert and it was AMAZING! Maxwell and his voice, lyrics, music is TIMELESS! It was like he never left, but he did cause I MISSED THE HELL OUT OF HIM!!!!!!

  2. Tamara says:

    Just left the show, excuse me, experience and I am in awe. I was a fan before, but I now realize I hadn’t really experienced you until now. Thank you for making it personal. You love what you do and it shows. The same can be said for your fellow musicians; they were outstanding. Keep blessing the world with your talent and don’t wait too long to come back to KC…and get some Grave’s BBQ ;o) Peace & Blessings to you and yours

  3. Aida says:

    You still got it and THEY know 😉

  4. This show was pretty good, I have to admit. I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was real good.

  5. Sherry says:

    I went to the concert in Detroit and it was fantastic, just like Maxwell. Some woman is an awfully lucky woman to be able to call him hers.

  6. tenesha says:

    How come your not showing no luv for Minneapolis? You never mentioned us on your blog. I still have mad luv for ya.

  7. Carrie says:

    Hi Maxee! I saw you last night in KC and I’m still in shock! lol…One word describes the experience I had…BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! You were mesmeriozing! And so was your band! You got some bad folks on your team! lol…Anyway…I left a message on your camcorder after the show..Hopefully you get to see it! I had on a turquoise top and wild hair..lol..my gurl was with me also and she loves you too! God bless you sweetie! xoxoxoxo…..

    p.s. I’m on your Myspace friend list..~Classy Lady715~

  8. Dee.M says:

    Hi M
    countin down the days til my 1st Maxwell concert! I heard your song BAd Habits on you tube at the amsterdam concert and i love the guitar intro,the vocals , the whole song. It’s definitely gonna be a favorite when i buy the cd.
    GOD BLESS & take care

  9. Shalonda says:

    Maxwell, why are you not coming to Virginina? I want to see you too.

  10. Nurse Deb says:

    What can I say? I experienced the ultimate MAX experience….forever in my heart, much respect and love, be safe my friend…
    Deb

  11. Nurse Deb says:

    I am still in la-la land….the shows were absolutely beyond my greatest expectations. He is in true life what we have all grown to know and love him on “My Space.” Humble, sincere, courageous and so amazingly gifted and loved. If the business ever affects him so these qualities are in jeopardy, I pray he takes another 7 years off, as this beautiful soul cannot be compromised…there are too few on the face of this earth. Experience it…if not this year next…you will NOT be the same…..

    God Bless you MAX!

  12. C says:

    Much love to Maxwell for a wonderful concert! He still has the magic after all these years! Thank you for all your music, we are truly blessed to hear your voice & lyrics! This was the best concert yet and I have been to all of his concerts! Can’t wait to you come back to KC!!!

  13. Hey Max,

    I was there for your show here in Detroit, and we LOVE YOU! You did your thang!!! As you saw for yourself. I just wish it was a second show. Im so scared we wont see you anytime soon, I ahouldnt say that. But I’ve been waiting for you for eva!!!

    You know what I love about you? You speak my/our language. In your interviews, your personality is awesome. You are just so in touch with your fans. That means a lot. Just wanted to stop by and show you some LOVE!!! Make sure you keep Detroit on your tour stop. I gotta see you again!! This time FRONT AND CENTER!

    Lacrease
    *Beenwaiting4Maxwell* Maxforum

  14. Nurse Angie says:

    Maxwell- Why was ur show in Detroit so short?! We just got 1 hour with you! When you come back next year, please stay longer!! I missed you HARD and thank u soooo much for coming back to us! Please hurry with the new cd! Your Maxwell FanForum loves u!

  15. shireen says:

    pretty please come to the UK!! we love you here!

  16. u-ko. says:

    MAXWELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I’m all the way from Japan and I really want to see the concert but pretty hard to fly and join from Japan. So, I’m watching Youtube every night and feel like I am there….
    u really make me SO sleepless!!!!!!!!!!

    We miss u alot( u haven’t visited us since 1999… ;( )
    Please show some luv for Japanese fans!!!
    We just can’t wait to see YOU!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Kay Kay says:

    The Detroit concert was not enough! WHEN IS THE ALBUM DROPPING????

  18. Amy says:

    I attended the concert in Detroit and yes I didn’t want the night to end. Thanks Maxwell for the show. We miss and love you. Can’t wait until your CD drops!!! Don’t stay away too long.

  19. (Cherokee) says:

    Maxwell love! Here’s an amazing concert review with fan comments of your performance in Kansas City 10.23.08! Life is very exciting when you’re having a grand ball…enjoy it always, stay safe, and see you soon in ATL for even more excitement! Here’s your review…

    | Bill Brownlee, Special to The Star

    Maxwell was worth the wait.

    His Kansas City fans had anticipated hearing fresh sounds from the soul singer for the better part of a decade.

    The final minutes leading up to his performance Thursday night at the Uptown Theater were especially excruciating. A good portion of the audience of about 1,700 had been been in the theater for over two hours with no diversion, save a dull DJ.

    All misery was forgotten when the curtain parted, revealing a 10-piece band and the handsome star.

    “I tried to put you out of my mind, Kansas City,” Maxwell cooed during his 85-minute performance. “But I can’t forget you.”

    His triumphant return served as a reminder that at its best, great soul music is liberatingly transcendent.

    The 35-year-old’s rapturous show represented a throwback to the golden era of R&B. In Maxwell’s musical world, hip-hop never existed. And women are referred to as ladies.

    Although he indulged in a few bump-and-grind moves and though women’s undergarments littered the stage, the show evoked 1960s-era Jackie Wilson rather than the modern lewdness of R. Kelly.

    Yet unlike many sex symbols, Maxwell is refreshingly self-effacing.

    “Look at me trying to be sexy up here,” he joked after executing a clumsy hip swivel. “It ain’t working.”

    He also goofed when referencing a local landmark. The audience promptly corrected him after he mentioned that he enjoyed the barbecue at “Grave’s.”

    Maxwell was boundlessly charming, but the audience had paid top dollar (tickets ranged from $50 to $150) to hear him sing.

    His voice was as radiant as Smokey Robinson’s on “Whenever Wherever Whatever,” while the new song “Bad Habits” evoked “Sexual Healing”-era Marvin Gaye. Maxwell promised it would be included on a forthcoming album, which will be his first in eight years.

    The audience’s favorite songs were his devastating cover of Kate Bush’s “This Woman’s Work” and the radiant “Fortunate.” Even better was “Lifetime,” in which he dramatically dropped to his knees while offering old-fashioned testifying.

    The dynamic band transformed the sultry “W/As My Girl” into an sweeping jazz ballad. Maxwell rightfully took great pleasure in putting the band through their paces. By contrast, recent area performances by fine soul singers Avant and Noel Gourdin suffered markedly because the artists merely sang along to recordings.

    Maxwell offered the real deal. “Kansas City, it’s been so long,” Maxwell teased. “I’m so sorry. Will you forgive me?”

    All is forgiven.

    #############
    Posted at 02:08 PM | Permalink
    Comments
    ROCK SOLID. Maxwell is a modern day Marvin Gaye…Solid, Soulful, Sweet and Sexy! Keep the great shows coming Larry!!!!

    Posted by: smartman | October 24, 2008 at 01:18 PM

    Fantastic photos!

    Posted by: wadkc | October 24, 2008 at 01:30 PM

    Now I wish I’d gone.

    Posted by: Tim Finn | October 24, 2008 at 02:07 PM

    For many years I’ve waited to see Maxwell & finally he comes to Kansas City & unfortunately I wasn’t able to attend his show,which was very Heart shattering for me. He is my favorite singer and I Love all his music, he could sing hello and I’d still love his voice,I can’t express what hearing him in person would have done for my soul. But thank you for the photos & the review I almost felt like I was there, that made me feel a little better,great job.

    Posted by: Angelia Hare | October 24, 2008 at 03:19 PM

    I saw him at the Midland in 2001. Alicia Keys opened. Nice.

    Posted by: Tim Finn | October 24, 2008 at 03:25 PM

    Angelia, perhaps you could fly to his next performance and hear him. Sounds like it would be worth it (no pun intended).

    Posted by: Engawyer | October 24, 2008 at 03:31 PM

    I would if I could & yes you’re right it would be so worth it anytime, only my dreams don’t come true like that. At least some one fells my pain. Thank You

    Posted by: Angelia Hare | October 24, 2008 at 04:02 PM

  20. Angelkaks says:

    Maxwell….I have missed you soooooo much. In the past I have never missed a chance to see you beautiful performances but unfortunatley I am living in a town in Kentucky where I KNOW you will never appear, so I just have to live with listening to my cd’s. I had the pleasure of meeting you in Atlanta in the early 2000’s after winning a radio contest and it was the most memorable day of my life. You have such a beautiful spirit, you made every woman in that room feel special and I truly love you for that. May God continue to bless you and us with your beautiful talent. I Love You with all my heart!!!

Leave a Reply

